Comparing offers?
The full table lists every verified OMPT requirement across all 31 universities, with each source linked.
UniversitiesUniversity College Fryslân
Leeuwarden · Netherlands
Campus Fryslân (part of the University of Groningen) takes OMPT-A or B for its Data Science & Society bachelor at a 60% average across subsections, two attempts, with a 0% on any subsection rejected. Two intakes a year, February and September.
University College Fryslân, Campus Fryslân, the University of Groningen's Leeuwarden campus, accepts the OMPT for one programme, the BSc in Data Science and Society, and scores it in a way no other university on this list does. You may sit either OMPT-A or OMPT-B, and the requirement is a minimum average of 60% across the test's subsections rather than a plain overall score. The sting is in the footnote: a 0% on any single subsection is not accepted, even if your average clears 60. Two attempts are allowed.
One discrepancy to flag: the programme's own admission page lists OMPT-A or OMPT-B, while Groningen's central certificates page lists only the OMPT-A for Data Science and Society. Both are official; the programme page is the more specific and was updated in March 2026. If you intend to sit the B, ask Campus Fryslân admissions to confirm before booking.
The test is only required if your Mathematics Course Description Checklist is judged insufficient, and the alternatives are generous: Dutch VWO Maths A, B or C, CCVX or Boswell-Beta Maths A or B, AP Statistics or Calculus at 3 or higher, GCE AS or A-level Maths, any IB maths course at grade 4, or the European Baccalaureate. Many applicants qualify without noticing.
Programme by programme
| Programme | Variant | Minimum score | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| BSc Data Science & SocietyCampus Fryslân | OMPT-A / OMPT-B | 60% average; a 0% on any subsection is not accepted | Two attempts at most. Dutch VWO Maths A/B/C, CCVX or Boswell-Beta Maths A/B, AP Statistics or Calculus 3+, GCE AS or A-level Maths, IB maths at grade 4, or the EB also count. source |
Last verified 2026-09-21 against the university’s own pages. Requirements change between admission cycles without notice, so confirm the current minimum with admissions before you book a test.
On most OMPT routes, a rational student concentrates on their strong chapters and accepts weakness elsewhere. At Campus Fryslân that strategy can sink an otherwise passing result: you need at least survival-level competence in every chapter of whichever variant you choose, because a single empty subsection is a fail regardless of the average. Practically, that means your timed mocks should be read by subsection, and any chapter scoring under 30% gets the next week's attention even if the total looks fine.
Between the two variants, I would sit the A unless you are strong in trigonometry and integration; the B adds those chapters for no extra credit here, and each added chapter is one more subsection that could come up empty. The OMPT-A page has the chapter list and a free timed mock with a per-topic breakdown; the is OMPT-B harder than A note quantifies what the B adds.
The programme page and Groningen's central page agree on the list. Dutch VWO Mathematics A, B or C all count. CCVX or Boswell-Beta Mathematics A or B count. AP Statistics, Calculus AB or Calculus BC at grade 3 to 5 count. GCE A-level or AS Mathematics or Further Mathematics count, without a stated grade. IB Mathematics at grade 4 counts on every course (Maths SL/HL, Mathematical Studies, Analysis and Approaches SL/HL, Applications and Interpretation SL/HL), and the European Baccalaureate is accepted. SAT and ACT are not listed.
The BSc is English-taught over 36 months and 180 EC in Leeuwarden, with no numerus fixus and two starts a year, February and September. Tuition for 2026-27 is €2,694 for EU/EEA students and €14,000 for non-EU/EEA students, with a €100 application fee for non-Dutch qualifications.
Because the programme starts twice a year, there are two application deadlines: 1 November 2026 for the February 2027 start and 1 May 2027 for September 2027, for EU and non-EU applicants alike (1 November 2027 for February 2028). Dutch applicants have 1 January and 1 May. No OMPT-specific date is published; the binding dates are Groningen's document-completion deadlines, 1 July for non-EU and 20 August for EU applicants ahead of a September start, and the certificate must be verifiable in the Progress Portal by then.
Submission follows the Groningen pattern: upload the certificate in the Progress Portal after your Studielink registration, and register at omptest.org with the University of Groningen selected so the result can be verified. With two attempts and about eight business days of grading, sit the first attempt at least six weeks before your document deadline. Validity is not stated; confirm with admissions if your result is from an earlier cycle.
Two attempts, and the subsection rule makes the second one easier to plan than usual, because the per-topic breakdown on your certificate tells you exactly which subsection failed. If the average was fine and one subsection was empty, the fix is a fortnight on that chapter, not a general restart; if the average was short, the retake guide covers how to rebuild.
If both attempts miss, the alternatives above are broad enough that most applicants can still clear the requirement: a Boswell-Beta Maths A exam, an AP Statistics sitting, or simply the next intake, which is never more than six months away at Campus Fryslân. Check the admission page for the current intake before booking anything.
Instead of the OMPT
Dutch VWO Mathematics A, B or C
Any of the three counts.
CCVX or Boswell-Beta
Mathematics A or B.
AP Statistics, Calculus AB or Calculus BC
Grade 3 to 5.
GCE A-level or AS Mathematics / Further Mathematics
Listed without a grade.
IB Mathematics
Grade 4 in Maths SL/HL, Mathematical Studies, AA SL/HL or AI SL/HL.
European Baccalaureate
Mathematics.
Calendar
1 November 2026 · Application deadline for the February 2027 start (EU and non-EU)
1 May 2027 · Application deadline for the September 2027 start
Dutch applicants: 1 January (February start) and 1 May (September).
1 July / 20 August 2027 · Groningen document deadlines: non-EU / EU
No OMPT-specific date is published; the certificate must be verifiable in the Progress Portal by your document deadline.
Prepare
Once you know your programme row, the next step is a timed mock of the exact variant it names. University College Fryslân uses 2 different variants, so pick carefully.
Quick answers
OMPT-A or OMPT-B, your choice, at a 60% average across subsections, with the rule that a 0% on any subsection is not accepted regardless of the average. Two attempts are allowed.
The A, for most students. The B adds trigonometry and integration without lowering the bar, so it only makes sense if those chapters are already strengths, or if you need the B for another university on your list. Confirm the B is accepted with admissions first, since Groningen's central page lists only the A.
Yes. IB maths at grade 4 on any course, GCE AS or A-level Mathematics, AP Statistics or Calculus at 3 or higher, Dutch VWO Maths A, B or C, CCVX or Boswell-Beta Maths A or B, and the European Baccalaureate all count.
1 November 2026 for the February 2027 start and 1 May 2027 for September 2027, for EU and non-EU applicants. The OMPT certificate must be verifiable in the Progress Portal by Groningen's document deadline (1 July non-EU, 20 August EU).
€2,694 for EU/EEA students and €14,000 for non-EU/EEA students in 2026-27, plus a €100 application fee for non-Dutch qualifications.
Last checked 2026-09
Every number on this page comes from one of the official pages below. Where a page does not state something, the text above says so and tells you to confirm with admissions rather than guessing.
The full table lists every verified OMPT requirement across all 31 universities, with each source linked.