OMPT Practice

UniversitiesTilburg University

Tilburg · Netherlands

Tilburg University OMPT requirements: programmes, scores, deadlines

Tilburg publishes a single table covering nine bachelors across three fields. Everything is OMPT-A except Econometrics, which gets OMPT-D; the bar is 70% with two attempts for the economics field, 60% for the social sciences. The certificate is due before the programme starts.

Tilburg University publishes one clean table covering nine bachelors, and the pattern is easy to hold in your head: everything runs on OMPT-A except Econometrics and Operations Research, which takes OMPT-D, and the bar depends on the field. The economics-side programmes (Economics, International Business Administration, Entrepreneurship and Business Innovation, Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence, and the econometrics degree) all want 70%, capped at two attempts. The social sciences group (Global Management of Social Issues, Human Resource Studies, International Sociology, and Psychology) sits at 60%, with no cap stated.

Tilburg frames the OMPT for students with an international diploma living abroad; applicants in the Netherlands are pointed to Boswell-Beta or CCVX. Some country tables go further and require the OMPT on top of the diploma: Turkish Lise holders must add an OMPT-A (an OMPT-D for Econometrics) to six hours a week of school maths, and Econometrics applicants from Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Finland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia and Slovenia are told to add an OMPT-D. If your country is on the table, the test is not optional.

The certificate is due before the start of the programme. Tilburg issues a conditional admission letter naming the exam you still owe, so the calendar is set by the September start rather than the application deadline, which is more room than most Dutch universities give.

Tilburg University OMPT at a glance

Who sits it
Students with an international diploma living abroad. Applicants in the Netherlands are pointed to Boswell-Beta or CCVX instead. Some country tables require the OMPT outright (Turkish Lise applicants sit OMPT-A, or OMPT-D for Econometrics).
Variants and scores
OMPT-A 70%, two attempts (Economics, Entrepreneurship and Business Innovation, International Business Administration, Cognitive Science and AI); OMPT-D 70%, two attempts (Econometrics and Operations Research); OMPT-A 60% (Global Management of Social Issues, Human Resource Studies, International Sociology, Psychology).
Application deadlines
1 April for non-EEA nationals, 1 May for EEA nationals; Psychology 15 January 2027 regardless of nationality (numerus fixus, 250 English-track places).
OMPT deadline
The certificate must be submitted before the start of the programme; a conditional admission letter names the exam you still owe.
How it is submitted
Documents go through OSIRIS Aanmeld; €100 one-time application fee for non-Dutch diplomas.
Tuition 2026-27
Statutory €2,694. Institutional non-EU/EEA around €13,400 (the fee PDF would not render; confirm on the rates page).
Validity
Not stated. Confirm with admissions.
Not on the list
Data Science (joint with TU/e) is applied for through Eindhoven and has no OMPT row.

Programme by programme

Which Tilburg University programmes require the OMPT

ProgrammeVariantMinimum scoreNotes
EconomicsEconomics and ManagementOMPT-A70%, two attempts at mostTaught entirely in English. VWO Maths A or B, IB AA HL/SL or AI HL, A-level Maths A to C, AP Calculus or Statistics 3+ also count. source
Econometrics and Operations ResearchEconomics and ManagementOMPT-D70%, two attempts at mostVWO Maths B, IB AA HL, A-level Maths A to C or AP Calculus 3+ count instead. Several country tables (Turkey, Austria, Croatia, Finland, Singapore and others) require the OMPT-D on top of the diploma. source
Entrepreneurship and Business InnovationEconomics and ManagementOMPT-A70%, two attempts at most— source
International Business AdministrationEconomics and ManagementOMPT-A70%, two attempts at most— source
Cognitive Science and Artificial IntelligenceHumanities and Digital SciencesOMPT-A70%, two attempts at mostThe A, not the D, despite the AI in the name. source
Global Management of Social IssuesSocial and Behavioral SciencesOMPT-A60%HAVO Maths A or B level; GCSE Maths A to C also counts. source
Human Resource Studies: People ManagementSocial and Behavioral SciencesOMPT-A60%— source
International SociologySocial and Behavioral SciencesOMPT-A60%— source
PsychologySocial and Behavioral SciencesOMPT-A60% (HAVO Maths A/B equivalent)Numerus fixus: 700 places in total, 250 for the English track; apply by 15 January 2027. source

Last verified 2026-09-21 against the university’s own pages. Requirements change between admission cycles without notice, so confirm the current minimum with admissions before you book a test.

Two attempts at 70%: how to prepare for Tilburg's OMPT-A and OMPT-D

The two-attempt cap on the 70% programmes deserves respect. Unlike Utrecht's three attempts or Arcada's three-before-applying, Tilburg gives you one retake, full stop. Sit a timed practice mock first and treat 80% on it as your booking threshold for the real thing. On the A that means at most fifteen wrong out of 52 in two hours; on the D it means fifteen fully correct long-form problems out of 21 in three hours with no partial credit, which is a different discipline entirely. The OMPT-A and OMPT-D pages each have a plan and a free timed mock, and the OMPT-D survival guide explains what the calculus variant actually examines.

One programme placement surprises people: Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence lives in the School of Humanities and Digital Sciences and takes the A at 70%, not the D that AI programmes elsewhere demand. If Tilburg's CSAI is your goal, that is good news; the A is the shorter, more drillable test. The 60% social-science rows are a HAVO Maths A or B level and, for a student with school algebra, four to six weeks of steady revision.

What Tilburg accepts instead of the OMPT

Tilburg's alternatives are school-based and set per field. Dutch diplomas: Wiskunde A or B at VWO final-exam level for the economics field and CSAI, Wiskunde B for Econometrics, Wiskunde A or B at HAVO or VWO level for the social sciences; an HBO-propedeuse is also accepted. IB: Analysis and Approaches HL or SL or Applications and Interpretation HL for the economics field and CSAI, AA HL only for Econometrics, any AA or AI course for the social sciences, on a full diploma of at least 24 points with three HL subjects. UK: GCE A-level Mathematics at A to C for the economics field, Econometrics and CSAI; GCSE Mathematics at A to C, or A-level at A to D, for the social sciences. US: AP Calculus AB or BC or AP Statistics at 3 for the economics field and CSAI, AP Calculus only for Econometrics. European Baccalaureate: three hours a week (economics field) or five (Econometrics).

Boswell-Beta and CCVX are named for applicants in the Netherlands without a threshold. SAT and ACT are not listed. Data Science, the joint programme with Eindhoven University of Technology, is applied for exclusively through Eindhoven and has no OMPT row.

Tilburg OMPT deadlines and how to submit the certificate

Application deadlines follow the Dutch pattern: 1 April for non-EEA nationals (including EEA residence-permit holders, who use the non-EEA date) and 1 May for EEA nationals, with rolling admission and decisions in four to six weeks. Psychology is numerus fixus with 700 places in total and 250 for the English track, and closes on 15 January 2027 at 23:59 CET regardless of nationality; Studielink opens on 1 October 2026. Liberal Arts and Sciences and a few others have extended dates.

The OMPT certificate itself is due before the start of the programme, which gives an April applicant the whole summer, but two attempts and eight business days of grading still argue for a first sitting by June. Documents are uploaded in OSIRIS Aanmeld, and all applicants with a non-Dutch diploma pay a one-time €100 application fee (Tilburg's maths page still says there is no fee; the application page is the newer text). Register at omptest.org with Tilburg University selected. Tilburg states no validity period, so treat the current cycle as the safe assumption.

Tuition, and what to do if you fail the OMPT for Tilburg

Statutory tuition for 2026-27 is €2,694. The institutional fee for non-EU/EEA students is around €13,400 (the fee PDF would not render when this page was checked; confirm on Tilburg's rates page). Economics is taught entirely in English, and Tilburg asks admitted students to graduate from secondary school by the end of August.

On the 70% rows the second attempt is the last one Tilburg counts, so treat a failed first sitting as a diagnostic and use it properly: read the per-topic breakdown, fix the named chapters, and rebook only when a timed mock clears 80%. If the second attempt also misses, Boswell-Beta and CCVX remain open on their own calendars, and because the certificate is only due before the programme starts, a summer exam can still rescue a September start. The retake guide and the OMPT vs CCVX note cover the choice.

Instead of the OMPT

What Tilburg University accepts instead of the OMPT

  • Dutch VWO or HAVO

    Economics field and CSAI: Wiskunde A or B at VWO final-exam level. Econometrics: Wiskunde B. Social sciences: Wiskunde A or B at HAVO or VWO level. An HBO-propedeuse is also accepted.

  • IB Mathematics

    Economics field and CSAI: AA HL or SL, or AI HL. Econometrics: AA HL. Social sciences: any AA or AI course. Full diploma, 24 points, three HL subjects.

  • UK qualifications

    Economics field, Econometrics, CSAI: GCE A-level Mathematics at A to C. Social sciences: GCSE Mathematics at A to C, or A-level at A to D.

  • AP

    Economics field and CSAI: Calculus AB/BC or Statistics at 3. Econometrics: Calculus AB or BC at 3.

  • European Baccalaureate

    Mathematics 3 hours a week (economics field) or 5 hours (Econometrics).

  • Boswell-Beta or CCVX

    Named for applicants in the Netherlands, without a threshold. SAT and ACT are not listed.

Calendar

Tilburg University OMPT deadlines

  1. 1 October 2026 · Studielink opens (2027-28)

  2. 15 January 2027, 23:59 CET · Psychology application deadline, all nationalities

  3. 1 April · Application deadline, non-EEA nationals (including EEA residence-permit holders)

    Rolling admission, decisions in four to six weeks.

  4. 1 May · Application deadline, EEA nationals

  5. Before the programme starts · OMPT certificate due

    Tilburg issues a conditional admission letter naming the exam; graduate by the end of August and clear the maths condition before September.

Prepare

Practice the OMPT variants Tilburg University asks for

Once you know your programme row, the next step is a timed mock of the exact variant it names. Tilburg University uses 2 different variants, so pick carefully.

OMPT-A

Format, scoring, a four-week plan and a free timed mock for the OMPT-A.

Free OMPT-A mock

OMPT-D

Format, scoring, a four-week plan and a free timed mock for the OMPT-D.

Free OMPT-D mock

Quick answers

Tilburg University OMPT questions, answered

Which OMPT does Tilburg University require?

OMPT-A for eight of its nine listed bachelors, at 70% for the economics-field programmes and 60% for the social sciences, and OMPT-D at 70% for Econometrics and Operations Research.

How many OMPT attempts does Tilburg count?

Two at most on the 70% programmes. No cap is stated for the 60% social-science rows. Use a free timed mock as your diagnostic and keep both real attempts for scores that count.

When do I need my OMPT result for Tilburg?

Before the start of the programme. Tilburg issues a conditional admission letter naming the exam; the application deadlines themselves are 1 April (non-EEA) and 1 May (EEA), and 15 January 2027 for Psychology.

Does Tilburg accept IB or A-level maths instead of the OMPT?

Yes. Economics field and CSAI: IB AA HL or SL or AI HL, or A-level Mathematics at A to C. Econometrics: IB AA HL or A-level at A to C. Social sciences: any IB AA or AI course, or GCSE Mathematics at A to C.

Is the OMPT compulsory for Turkish applicants to Tilburg?

Yes, on the country table: Lise Diplomasi holders must add an OMPT-A (OMPT-D for Econometrics) to six hours a week of school maths over the last four years.

Does Tilburg's Cognitive Science and AI programme need OMPT-D?

No. It takes OMPT-A at 70%, two attempts, like the economics-field programmes.

Last checked 2026-09

Sources for Tilburg University OMPT requirements

Every number on this page comes from one of the official pages below. Where a page does not state something, the text above says so and tells you to confirm with admissions rather than guessing.

Comparing offers?

The full table lists every verified OMPT requirement across all 31 universities, with each source linked.

All universities