OMPT Practice

UniversitiesCatólica Porto Business School

Porto · Portugal

Católica Porto Business School OMPT requirements: programmes, scores, deadlines

Católica Porto (now Católica Porto School of Business and Economics) takes OMPT-A in place of its own internal maths exam for International Student Status applicants to Economics and Management whose home-country exams have no Portuguese equivalent. The maths component minimum is 95 out of 200; how an OMPT percentage maps onto it is not published.

Católica Porto Business School, now styled Católica Porto School of Business and Economics, accepts OMPT-A in place of its own internal mathematics exam for its Economics and Management degrees (Licenciatura em Economia and Licenciatura em Gestão). The rule is set out in the signed admissions notice for International Student Status applicants: when the exams you sat in your home country are not considered equivalent to the Portuguese entrance exam, you sit two knowledge tests, Mathematics (the UCP internal exam or the OMPT-A) and English (the UCP internal exam). It is the school's answer to comparing a Nigerian, Indian or American transcript against Portugal's national exam system.

No minimum OMPT percentage is published. What the notice does print is the scale: the maths exam component needs at least 95 points out of 200, it counts for 30% of the application grade alongside 50% for the secondary final grade and 20% for the second exam, and the faculty may set a higher floor for particular exams (it names the ENEM as an example). How an OMPT percentage converts onto that 0 to 200 scale is not stated anywhere I could find, so ask admissions for the number before you set a target. Until they answer, prepare to a 70% practice level; it matches what the Lisbon sister school publishes and no admissions office has ever complained about a higher score.

The alternative is UCP's internal maths exam, scheduled per application phase. The OMPT's advantage is logistics: proctored online, bookable with 72 hours' notice, graded in about eight business days. For an applicant several time zones from Porto, that convenience is usually decisive.

Católica Porto Business School OMPT at a glance

Programmes
Licenciatura em Economia and Licenciatura em Gestão: three years, 180 ECTS, daytime, taught in Portuguese and English with a fully English track; classes start 7 September. Twenty places for 2026-27 (4 Economics, 16 Management).
Who sits it
International Student Status applicants whose home-country exams are not judged equivalent to the Portuguese entrance exam. They sit two knowledge tests: Mathematics (UCP internal exam or OMPT-A) and English (UCP internal exam).
Variant
OMPT-A.
Minimum score
Not published as a percentage. The maths exam component needs at least 95 points on a 0 to 200 scale; the conversion from an OMPT percentage is not printed. Confirm with admissions.
Application rounds (2026-27)
2 December 2025 to 15 January 2026; 23 February to 7 April 2026; 11 May to 11 June 2026. Later rounds open only if places remain.
How it is submitted
Exam documents are uploaded with the online application at secretaria.porto.ucp.pt; no OMPT-specific instruction is printed.
Tuition 2026-27 (International Student Status)
€21.75 per ECTS per month, €652.50 a month for 30 ECTS, paid over ten months (September to June); €180 application fee, €470 first enrolment.
Attempts, validity, OMPT deadline
Not published. Confirm with admissions.

Programme by programme

Which Católica Porto Business School programmes require the OMPT

ProgrammeVariantMinimum scoreNotes
Licenciatura em Economia / Licenciatura em GestãoCatólica Porto Business SchoolOMPT-ANot published (maths component minimum 95/200)For International Student Status applicants whose home-country exams have no Portuguese entrance-exam equivalent. UCP's own internal maths exam is the alternative; dates are scheduled per round. source

Last verified 2026-09-21 against the university’s own pages. Requirements change between admission cycles without notice, so confirm the current minimum with admissions before you book a test.

Preparing for the OMPT-A without a published minimum

The A's syllabus runs from numbers and algebra through functions, exponentials and logarithms to basic differentiation, in 52 questions over two hours with no partial credit. Seventy percent on a timed mock, my working target here, means at most fifteen wrong; the OMPT-A page has the chapter list, a four-week plan and the free mock. Católica Porto publishes no attempt cap and is not on the test provider's list of exceptions, so the provider's default of up to three attempts applies unless the school tells you otherwise; each is a fresh fee.

Because the score feeds a weighted application grade rather than a pass line, a higher percentage does real work here. Twenty places were available for 2026-27 (four in Economics, sixteen in Management), results come back as admitted, referred to the next phase or not admitted, and candidates not admitted are carried into the next phase automatically at no extra cost. A strong maths component is the cheapest way to move up that list.

What Católica Porto accepts instead of the OMPT

Two things. First, home-country final exams that UCP judges equivalent to Matemática A plus one of Economia, Português, Inglês, Física e Química, Geografia or História, per the equivalence table on the admissions site (the linked table was returning an error when checked; ask admissions for the current version). Second, the UCP internal maths exam itself, with dates scheduled per phase. Brazilian applicants can submit the ENEM, with a minimum score kept on a separate page that was not retrievable. SAT, ACT, IB and A-levels are not named as OMPT substitutes, though they may count as equivalent exams under the table.

An English B2 certificate is required for the English track (Portuguese B2 for the Portuguese track). The degrees are three years and 180 ECTS, daytime, taught in Portuguese and English with the option to follow the whole programme in English, and classes start on 7 September.

Católica Porto deadlines and how to submit the result

The 2026-27 International Student Status cycle ran in three phases: 2 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 (results 12 February, enrolment 18 to 20 February), 23 February to 7 April 2026 (results 28 April, enrolment 5 to 7 May) and 11 May to 11 June 2026 (results 2 July, enrolment 9 to 13 July), with the second and later phases opening only if places remained. No OMPT-specific deadline is published, so the certificate needs to exist when you apply in your phase; with about eight business days of grading, sit at least a fortnight before the phase closes.

Submission is with the online application at secretaria.porto.ucp.pt, where exam-score documents are uploaded; the notice gives no OMPT-specific instruction, so upload the digital certificate there and confirm with admissions that it has been read. Register at omptest.org with Católica Porto selected. Validity is not stated; if your result is from an earlier cycle, ask.

Tuition, and what to do if you fall short

For 2026-27, International Student Status students at Católica Porto School of Business and Economics pay €21.75 per ECTS per month, which at 30 ECTS a semester is €652.50 a month over ten months (September to June), plus a €180 application fee and €470 at first enrolment (€365 for later years). The notice itself still prints the 2025-26 figures (€630 a month); the tuition-table extract has the current ones.

Because admission is phased, a weak first result is not a dead end: the notice says candidates not admitted are passed to the next phase automatically, which gives you the interval to sit the OMPT-A again or to book the internal exam. Read the per-topic breakdown, fix the named chapters, and retest when a timed mock clears 70%. The retake guide covers the planning between attempts.

Instead of the OMPT

What Católica Porto Business School accepts instead of the OMPT

  • UCP internal mathematics exam

    The other maths option, scheduled per application phase.

  • Equivalent home-country exams

    National final exams judged equivalent to Matemática A plus one of Economia, Português, Inglês, Física e Química, Geografia or História; the equivalence table is on the admissions site.

  • ENEM (Brazil)

    Accepted for Brazilian applicants; the minimum score is on a separate page and was not retrievable when checked.

  • SAT, ACT, IB, A-level

    Not named as OMPT substitutes; they may count as equivalent home-country exams under the equivalence table.

Calendar

Católica Porto Business School OMPT deadlines

  1. 2 December 2025 to 15 January 2026 · Phase 1 (2026-27), results 12 February, enrolment 18 to 20 February

  2. 23 February to 7 April 2026 · Phase 2, results 28 April, enrolment 5 to 7 May

    Opens only with places left over from phase 1.

  3. 11 May to 11 June 2026 · Phase 3, results 2 July, enrolment 9 to 13 July

    No OMPT-specific deadline is published; have the certificate ready when you apply in your phase.

Prepare

Practice the OMPT variant Católica Porto Business School asks for

Once you know your programme row, the next step is a timed mock of the exact variant it names. Católica Porto Business School uses one variant, so pick carefully.

OMPT-A

Format, scoring, a four-week plan and a free timed mock for the OMPT-A.

Free OMPT-A mock

Quick answers

Católica Porto Business School OMPT questions, answered

Which OMPT does Católica Porto accept?

OMPT-A, in place of the school's internal maths exam, for International Student Status applicants to Economics and Management whose national exams have no Portuguese equivalent. No minimum percentage is published.

What score should I aim for at Católica Porto?

Ask admissions how an OMPT percentage maps onto the 0 to 200 maths component, which needs at least 95 points. Until they answer, prepare to a 70% practice standard, the figure its Lisbon counterpart publishes for comparable programmes.

When are Católica Porto's application phases?

For 2026-27: 2 December to 15 January, 23 February to 7 April, and 11 May to 11 June, with later phases opening only if places remain. No separate OMPT deadline is published; have the certificate ready when you apply.

Does Católica Porto accept the ENEM?

Yes, for Brazilian applicants; the minimum score sits on a separate admissions page. Ask admissions for the current figure.

How much do Economics and Management cost at Católica Porto for international students?

€652.50 a month over ten months for 30 ECTS a semester in 2026-27, plus a €180 application fee and €470 first enrolment.

Last checked 2026-09

Sources for Católica Porto Business School OMPT requirements

Every number on this page comes from one of the official pages below. Where a page does not state something, the text above says so and tells you to confirm with admissions rather than guessing.

Comparing offers?

The full table lists every verified OMPT requirement across all 31 universities, with each source linked.

All universities