OMPT Practice

UniversitiesBI Norwegian Business School

Oslo · Norway

BI Norwegian Business School OMPT requirements: programmes, scores, deadlines

BI takes OMPT-F at 60% for its Bachelor of Data Science for Business, two attempts per intake, from any applicant who cannot document maths at Norwegian R1 or S1+S2 level. Its other English bachelors do not require it.

BI Norwegian Business School in Oslo takes OMPT-F at 60% for its Bachelor of Data Science for Business, with a maximum of two attempts per intake. The requirement applies to any applicant who cannot document mathematics at the level of Norwegian R1 or S1 plus S2 through school or higher education, whatever their nationality. BI's other English-taught bachelors, the Bachelor of Business Administration and the Bachelor in Digital Business, recommend good maths but do not ask applicants to document it, so the OMPT is a one-programme rule at BI.

The requirement mirrors NHH's almost exactly, which is convenient: one OMPT-F sitting can serve applications to both Norwegian schools, and NHH's two-year validity makes an early sitting low-risk. BI itself publishes no validity period, no separate OMPT deadline and no upload instruction beyond its general application portal, so the practical rules come from its priority deadlines: 1 March for international applicants, 15 April for Norwegian applicants, and 15 June for all documentation from applicants outside the EU/EEA, with rolling admission after that while places last.

The alternatives are school-based rather than test-based, and many applicants already qualify without noticing. Check your transcript against the list below before booking anything.

BI Norwegian Business School OMPT at a glance

Programme
Bachelor of Data Science for Business: English, 180 ECTS, full-time, Oslo campus.
Variant and score
OMPT-F, passed at 60% or higher.
Who must sit it
Any applicant who cannot document mathematics at R1 or S1+S2 level through school or higher education, regardless of nationality.
Attempts
Two per intake.
Priority deadlines
1 March for international applicants, 15 April for Norwegian applicants, 15 June for all non-EU/EEA documentation; rolling admission after that while places last.
Not required for
Bachelor of Business Administration and Bachelor in Digital Business: maths is recommended but not documented.
Tuition 2026-27
NOK 106,400 a year for Norwegian, EU/EEA and Swiss citizens; NOK 138,400 for citizens outside the EU/EEA/Switzerland.
Validity and submission
Not stated for the OMPT. Upload with your other documents in the application portal and confirm with admissions.

Programme by programme

Which BI Norwegian Business School programmes require the OMPT

ProgrammeVariantMinimum scoreNotes
Bachelor of Data Science for BusinessBI Norwegian Business SchoolOMPT-F60%Two attempts per intake. Norwegian Maths R1 or S1+S2, or IB Maths at grade 3 or above on any of the IB courses, also qualify. source

Last verified 2026-09-21 against the university’s own pages. Requirements change between admission cycles without notice, so confirm the current minimum with admissions before you book a test.

What BI accepts instead of the OMPT-F

Three routes cover most applicants. Norwegian education: Mathematics R1, or S1 plus S2, completed with a passing grade. IB: any of the IB mathematics courses at grade 3 or above, which BI lists in full (Analysis and Approaches SL or HL, Applications and Interpretation SL or HL, and the older Mathematics SL and HL, Mathematical Studies and Mathematical Methods). Other international high schools: mathematics equivalent to R1 or S1+S2, where BI asks you to contact admissions via chat for the specific equivalence rather than publishing a table.

A-level, SAT, ACT and AP are not mentioned on the requirements page. That is not the same as refused, but it means you should not assume a strong SAT maths section covers you; ask admissions and get the answer in writing. If you are coming through the Norwegian system or an IB school, the OMPT-F is almost certainly unnecessary. The route exists mainly for international applicants whose secondary maths does not map onto those Norwegian categories.

What 60% on the OMPT-F actually involves

The F is long-form: 21 extended problems in three hours on an algebra-through-differentiation syllabus with no trigonometry and no integrals. Sixty percent means fully completing about thirteen problems, and the OMPT's marking gives nothing for a right method with a wrong final line. Rehearse under the clock with complete written answers; that is the skill the F examines, and it is a different skill from the quick-recall drills that carry the OMPT-A.

Register at omptest.org selecting BI Norwegian Business School and Bachelor of Data Science for Business, so the result is linked correctly. The OMPT-F page has the syllabus, a four-week plan and a free timed mock; aim for 70% on the mock before you book, because two attempts per intake is enough room for one mistake, not two.

BI OMPT deadlines and how to submit the result

BI runs priority deadlines rather than hard cut-offs: 1 March for international applicants and 15 April for Norwegian applicants, after which admission is rolling and depends on remaining places. Applicants from outside the EU/EEA must have all documentation in by 15 June. No OMPT-specific date is published, so treat the priority date you are aiming for as the date your certificate should be in the file, and 15 June as the absolute latest.

Submission runs through BI's application portal, where transcripts, the English test, motivation letter, CV, passport and financial plan are uploaded; the OMPT certificate goes in with them. BI does not say whether it also checks the OMPT admission portal, so upload the certificate yourself and do not rely on the test provider having shared it. Validity is not stated either; if your result is more than a year old, confirm with admissions that it still counts.

Tuition, and what to do if you fail the OMPT-F for BI

BI is a private institution and charges everyone. For 2026-27 the Bachelor of Data Science for Business costs NOK 106,400 a year for Norwegian, EU/EEA and Swiss citizens and NOK 138,400 a year for citizens outside the EU/EEA/Switzerland (roughly €11,900). BI estimates living costs at NOK 151,690 a year. The programme is 180 ECTS, full-time, in English, on the Oslo campus.

If your first attempt misses, you have one more in the same intake. Read the per-topic breakdown on your certificate, fix the two or three chapters it names, run a timed mock, and book the second sitting only when the mock clears 70%. If both attempts fall short, BI points international applicants who do not yet meet its requirements to its Pathway to Bachelor's programme, and the Bachelor of Business Administration and Bachelor in Digital Business remain open without a documented maths requirement. The retake guide covers the planning in between.

Instead of the OMPT

What BI Norwegian Business School accepts instead of the OMPT

  • Norwegian Mathematics R1, or S1 plus S2

    Completed with a passing grade.

  • IB Mathematics at grade 3 or above

    Any of the IB maths courses: Analysis and Approaches SL or HL, Applications and Interpretation SL or HL, and the older Mathematics SL/HL, Mathematical Studies and Mathematical Methods.

  • Other international high school maths

    Mathematics equivalent to R1 or S1+S2; BI asks you to contact admissions via chat for the specific equivalence.

  • A-level, SAT, ACT, AP

    Not listed on the requirements page. Confirm with admissions before relying on any of them.

Calendar

BI Norwegian Business School OMPT deadlines

  1. 1 March · Priority application deadline, international applicants

    Rolling admission afterwards, based on availability.

  2. 15 April · Priority application deadline, Norwegian applicants

  3. 15 June · All documentation due, applicants from outside the EU/EEA

    No separate OMPT date is published; have the certificate in your file by this date at the latest, and by 1 March if you want the priority round.

Prepare

Practice the OMPT variant BI Norwegian Business School asks for

Once you know your programme row, the next step is a timed mock of the exact variant it names. BI Norwegian Business School uses one variant, so pick carefully.

OMPT-F

Format, scoring, a four-week plan and a free timed mock for the OMPT-F.

Free OMPT-F mock

Quick answers

BI Norwegian Business School OMPT questions, answered

Which OMPT does BI Norwegian Business School require?

OMPT-F at 60% for the Bachelor of Data Science for Business, with two attempts per intake. BI's other bachelors do not require a documented maths test.

Do I need the OMPT if I have IB Maths for BI?

No. Any IB mathematics course passed at grade 3 or above satisfies the requirement, as does Norwegian R1 or S1+S2. The OMPT-F route is for applicants without one of those qualifications.

What is the OMPT deadline for BI?

BI publishes no separate OMPT date. Aim to have the certificate in your application by the 1 March priority deadline for international applicants; non-EU applicants must have all documentation in by 15 June.

Does BI accept the SAT or A-level maths instead of the OMPT-F?

Neither is listed on BI's requirements page. Ask admissions in writing before relying on either; the published alternatives are Norwegian R1 or S1+S2, IB maths at grade 3+, and equivalent international high school maths.

How much does BI's Data Science for Business bachelor cost?

NOK 106,400 a year for Norwegian, EU/EEA and Swiss citizens and NOK 138,400 for non-EU citizens in 2026-27.

Last checked 2026-09

Sources for BI Norwegian Business School OMPT requirements

Every number on this page comes from one of the official pages below. Where a page does not state something, the text above says so and tells you to confirm with admissions rather than guessing.

Comparing offers?

The full table lists every verified OMPT requirement across all 31 universities, with each source linked.

All universities